jump to navigation

What think ye of Tiger ? March 23, 2010

Posted by Rambling Man in Sports.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

So, after all his admitted infidelities and sex addiction therapy and apologies and comebacks, what think ye of Tiger Woods – the greatest golfer the planet has ever seen?

Personally speaking, I was so disappointed in him when he cheated on his lovely wife and it was contrary to everything I thought Tiger Woods stood for – heretofore he had been, in my eyes, a model of a man and a sportsman.  I had the pleasure of briefly meeting him a couple of times in my role as a player care marshall at the 2006 Ryder Cup …

So am I glad that Tiger is coming back to golf ?  Hell yeah !  Golf is not as exciting a sport without him and the US Masters at Augusta would not be the same either.  I think the golfing public can forgive him his infidelities – or at least separate them from golf – and he will once again become a crowd favourite.  That’s what I think anyway – he’s too good a golfer not to rise back to the top of his profession.

On the other hand, I hope he has made some ammends with his wife. I am not sure whether they are back together and it’s none of our business in any case – but I wish them well … she sure would have to be the forgiving type.

Comments»

1. Kathleen Cole - March 23, 2010

Personally Tiger Woods’ return to competition brightens my day! Yes, his talent and stature in golf should be taken separately from his intimate personal struggles.

Tiger can’t purchase his way out of this mess anytime soon. Nor can he or his family get a particle of privacy. Celebrity in America is a double-edged sword. We give celebrities adulation and credibility they cannot deserve. We ask them only to bare it all publicly.

Give me a great golf score any day.

2. Rambling Man - March 24, 2010

Do you play Kathleen ? I’m a bit of a golf nut myself … one day I’ll find my way to a small town in Georgia …


Leave a Reply

