jump to navigation

Food served all day … March 4, 2008

Posted by Rambling Man in Ireland & the Irish, Poetry & Humor.
trackback

Food served all day … except before 12.30 and after 9:15 ! But ALL DAY other than that ?

I love these kinds of signs – they’re what makes rural Ireland ‘real’ . I can well imagine the utter confusion of tourists and non-locals trying to order something outside of these times … “But the sign says ALL DAY !??” …

food.jpg

Great little country if you could only roof ‘er !

PS : This pic is from my earlier golfing trip to Sligo.

Comments»

1. laurie - March 4, 2008

ah, i remember ducking into a place in donegal, lured by a sign that said “hot pub lunches.”

all they had was what they called “vegetable soup.”

which was made almost entirely of mushrooms.

tricked again! but we ate it. we were starving.

2. laurie - March 4, 2008

ps also, my favorite restaurant sign (from rural minnesota) said “breakfasts, and meals.”

as if breakfast isn’t a…. oh, never mind.

3. ellen - March 6, 2008

Hi there, I wish you the best of luck, I always read your blog although I dont comment, I suppose that makes me a lurker;) Anyhow, I’ll be checking in to see how you are getting on in NZ. Best of luck and remember it is the first stage of the rest of your life:)

4. Rambling Man - March 8, 2008

thanks everyone for the comments and good wishes – enjoying san francisco at the moment … too much to see and no time to blog !


Leave a Reply

