jump to navigation

The Black Spot February 6, 2008

Posted by Rambling Man in General Bloggery.
Tags: , ,
trackback

For those heathens out there, I’d like to remind you that today is Ash Wednesday.  Today is the beginning of Lent and of the wonderful period before Easter – 40 days and 40 nights – where you decide to give something “up” !  “Whaddya givin’ up for Lent ?” we used to ask one another as kids ?  Sweets, too much TV, calling your sister rude names, the fags .. were all popular choices.

Lent and Ash Wednesday are less popular these days I see – on my lunchtime walkaround I noticed only two or three people with the black spot on their forehead.  I’m guessing that there’s just too much misery in the whole thing for the youth of today and the idea of going around the place with a black spot of cremated ash in the centre of your forehead to show your humble beginnings (as dust), is just not high up there for most …

So whereas I didn’t get the black spot today, I note that many of my colleague’s kids did – and that’s because they are in state run schools, which remain predominantly run by the Catholic Church.  I think I’d like the option of not having my child get this symbol on their head … I wonder how that’d go down ?

Anyway that’s a bit off point – so what am I giving up for Lent ?  more to the point, what are YOU giving up for Lent ?

For the record, I’m trying to eat less bread.  Big, bad bread … and watching reality TV … oh, and to recycle more …

Comments»

1. His Girl Friday - February 9, 2008

to be honest, I didn’t really give it much thought, as in what specifically…I suppose that I’m technically Protestant (much to gran’s dismay), I get to abstain! 😉
I remember those black spots and my two good (Catholic) friends were always jealous that I didn’t have to get one! 🙂
My cousin gave up beer last year; now that would be stretching it for me!

2. Adrienne - April 11, 2014

Football’s governing entire body, nevertheless, would
have none of it. A retraction was attained from the person who made the allegations and
Fifa threw its fat guiding Qatar, refusing to examine whether
any wrongdoing had taken location. However as our story today reveals, the suspicions had been properly-started.

Jack Warner, the former vice-president of Fifa and one of the important figures
associated in the World Cup bidding process, was compensated $one.2 million by a organization
managed by a previous Qatari football formal, soon right after the selection
was manufactured to give the region the tournament.

There is a historical past of employing the World Cup as a showcase for creating broadcast
technology. Just 4 several years ago in South Africa, twenty five matches of the the 2010 World Cup have been developed in 3D
as a showcase for that format. An approximated three.two billion folks
(according to FIFA figures) are count on to look
at the 2014 match. The opening match of the 2014 World Cup in Brazil will be performed on Thursday, June 12th in Sao
Paulo. There will be sixty four matches played.
The World Cup last will be played on Sunday, July 13th
at Estadio do Maracana in Rio de Janeiro.


Leave a Reply

