jump to navigation

Heuston Station, Dublin – an observation January 22, 2008

Posted by Rambling Man in General Bloggery.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

So here I am, waiting for the train home, eager to be away from the foul, overcrowded and rain lashed streets of Dublin and get back “down the country”. So I thought I’d blog from Heuston Station – a poorly executed attempt at a modern European train station but sure what can you do – ’tis Ireland after all.

So I’m standing art one of the internet booths which costs €1 an hour. I think it’s in the middle of one of those Wi-Fi zones where anyone with a laptop can get on the web but alas there doesn’t seem to be much demand …. plenty of oul biddies running for the next train to Portarlington alright but no laptop users.

And so I thought, to while away the minutes before my departure I’d tell you good people about a few of the funny folk knocking about this place. Mad busy it is but if you stop and observe, there are a few great characters that will pass. Bear in mind that for my 4 hour train journey I need to be on the train a full 45 minutes before it leaves, just to I can get a seat. It costs €25 return whether or not your ass gets to sit down !

The fellow behind me has been annoying me for the past few minutes – he reminds me of one of those bewildered looking observers you see in travel programs about China – not doing anything in particular but staring at what you are doing as if you had three heads. And then he distractedly walks over to the next free booth and taps a few idle keys, tuts loudly and then takes up his position again. I guess he’s waiting to log on to this booth but I had to pay for it so he can wait !

Across the way there are two oul wans deeply involved in conversation – every so often – well every few seconds in fact, they look aggitatedly at their watches, nod at one another and then glance around as if a magical train conductor is going to appear to reassure them that they won’t miss their train which is 25 yards away at platform 2.  Reminds me of situations where people are so anxious not to be late, they fuss so much that they actually end up being really  late !
The loud speaker is apologising ad nauseum that the next train to Kildare is cancelled because of leaves on the line something or other and theres a conductor type person just standing there under the sign telling people the same information. You’d be amazed the people who just keep walking even after he has told them !

And heres the clincher – I’m about to be cut off – more anon …

Comments»

1. Laurie - January 22, 2008

wow, news as it happens! i love it.

and one euro an hour is a pretty damn good price. at USA airports it’s more like $15 for 15 minutes.

i hope you find another euro coin quick. i want to read more.

2. (un)relaxeddad - January 24, 2008

One Euro an hour is way cheaper than the London standard – though more and more smaller cafes and bars are starting to provide free wi-fi


Leave a Reply

