jump to navigation

On Raglan Road January 12, 2008

Posted by Rambling Man in Poetry & Humor.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Whether in song or in verse, this piece remains one of my favourite …

Raglan Road
by Patrick Kavanagh

On Raglan Road of an autumn day I saw her first and knew
That her dark hair would weave a snare that I might one day rue
I saw the danger and I passed along the enchanted way
And I said let grief be a fallen leaf at the dawning of the day

On Grafton Street in November we tripped lightly along the ledge
Of a deep ravine where can be seen the worth of passion’s play
The Queen of Hearts still making tarts and I not making hay
Oh I loved too much and by such by such is happiness thrown away

I gave her gifts of the mind I gave her the secret signs
That’s known to the artists who have known the true Gods of sound and stone
And words and tint without stint, I gave her poems to say
With her own name there and her own dark hair like clouds over fields of May

On a quiet street where old ghosts meet I see her walking now
Away from me so hurriedly my reason must allow
That I had loved not as I should a creature made of clay
When the angel woos the clay he’ll lose his wings at the dawn of day

Comments»

1. laurie - January 12, 2008

i love the Van Morrison version.

i had no idea this was a Patrick Kavanagh poem!

2. OneForTheRoad - January 12, 2008

Even now when I read it I can only hear Luke Kelly. And I get shivers thinking about his voice.

3. Rambling Man - January 13, 2008

yeah luke was the man – the link above leads to a luke version – laurie if you follow it, in the related videos, is the van morisson version – theres even one of kavanagh reciting the poem !

4. flirty - January 14, 2008

haven’t seen this in a while, thanks for posting

5. His Girl Friday - January 15, 2008

Hi Laurie,

I love Van Morrison’s version as well..I put in on my blog for easy reference. 🙂


Leave a Reply

