jump to navigation

The Rubáiyát of Omar Khayyam December 18, 2007

Posted by Rambling Man in Poetry & Humor.
Tags:
trackback

Awake! For Morning in the Bowl of Night
Has flung the Stone that puts the Stars to Flight;
And Lo! The Hunter of the East has caught
The Sultan’s Turret in a Noose of Light.

Strange the things we remember from childhood. My dear departed father made me learn these lines by heart when I was very young and delighted in showing me off in my precociousness to the friends and neighbours who would gather in our house.

It’s only recently I re-found the little red book containing the quatrains of Khayyam’s writings … it has spurred me on to learn a little bit more about this Iranian mathematician … who’d’a thunk it !

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

