jump to navigation

Movies I want to see December 14, 2007

Posted by Rambling Man in General Bloggery.
Tags: ,
trackback

If I don’t see these movies reasonably soon I think I’ll go mad …

American Gangster
Everyone’s talking about it – sounds like a great story and I’m a big fan of Denzel.

Atonement
Much as though the constant open mouthedness of Kiera Knightley annoys the hell out of my wife, I think this could be a good one. 13-year old Irish actress Saoirse Ronan (try get the Yanks to pronounce that !) has been Golden Globe nominated for her role – definitely one to look out for …

Michael Clayton
This sounds like my kind of film and George Clooney is supposed to have put in a great acting performance. It’s also written by the writer who wrote The Bourne Ultimatum (Tony Gilroy) – a favourite movie of this year.

The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
This is one I’ve wanted to see for a long time. Casey Affleck has been nominated for Golden Globe in the lead role and Brad Pitt gives a great performance too by all accounts.

We Own The Night
This is a gritty cop thriller with Jaoquin Phoenix and the lovely Eva Mendes … one which I know little about but which cannot find itself quickly enough into my DVD player !

Comments»

1. Lauren - December 15, 2007

Okay, how the hell do you pronounce Saoirse’s name? I’ve not wanted to say it because I know I’ll pronounce it wrong. And pretty much everyone I know over here has probably been saying it wrong because they don’t quite get that Gaelic names aren’t pronounced the way they’re spelled.

2. Rambling Man - December 15, 2007

hi lauren – its pretty much pronounced SEER-SHA .it means “freedom”.

a true native irish speaker might pronounce it SARE-SHEH.

3. Lauren - December 16, 2007

Ah, okay. Wow, that’s a really pretty name. Thanks for the help!

4. Rambling Man - December 16, 2007

you’re welcome đŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

