jump to navigation

“I love my dog, mate !” October 17, 2007

Posted by Rambling Man in General Bloggery.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

A rather sad tale from my weekend in London to report. It just showed me – all in the space of 24 hours – what a range of people and problems there exists in that and every other city and town …

I was accessing extra funds because of my damned hotel rate and was standing in line at an ATM beside which was an elderly looking, quite bedraggled homeless man wrapped up in a blanket with a hoodie pulled down over his head. I had already decided to give him something when an equally bedraggled little Jack Russell terrier dog wriggled its way out of the warmth of his blanket and had a look at what was going on round him.

When I had finished my transaction I place my meagre offering (what is money to someone like that ?) in his tin and bent down to see if he was alright. It turned out that “he” was a “she” and we chatted briefly about her dog. All the while the poor pooch looked forlornly on and one couldn’t help but be affected by both their plights.

“Look after yourself – and your dog” I said as I left.

My heart jumped and broke at the same time, when I heard her quiet response … “I love my dog, mate ! God Bless ya.”

Comments»

1. Coastal Aussie - October 17, 2007

Aww, that’s so bittersweet. Good on you for helping them out.

2. laurie - October 18, 2007

now that is sweet.

3. Linda - February 13, 2008

that’s so sweet.


Leave a Reply

