jump to navigation

Mouth Noises. It’s just not right ! August 27, 2007

Posted by Rambling Man in General Bloggery, Ireland & the Irish.
trackback

Mouth noises on the radio have to be the most annoying thing ever on a Monday morning !

I refer of course, to the salivating, liquidy and horrible roof of the mouth slop sounds that eminate from in between some of our most prominent radio presenters’ utterances !

Aaarrgh – to me it’s like nails on a chalkboard or biting on cotton wool … sends shivers down me spine !

You know who you are mouth noise people – stop it !  It’s just not right !

PS : If you don’t know what mouth noises are, chew some gum and then take the slurpy, saliva filled sounds that your mouth makes with gum-juice and intermingle it with the weather report …

Comments»

1. laurie - August 27, 2007

i agree it’s disgusting. but the worst thing on the radio is ads that have siren noises. when i’m driving in my car and one of those ads comes on, i panic–is it a real siren? am i being stopped by the cops? is there a fire truck that needs to get through? ah, no, it’s JUST A STUPID AD.

and i drive on, resolving to never buy that product.

2. Rambling Man - August 27, 2007

the annoying thing is that the show would be one you’d really want to listen to – they’d have interesting debates and stuff … but the slurpy slurp between words just makes me want to find the nearest bucket

3. why must they slurp and suck - December 22, 2008

Oh my god! My wife makes mouth sounds while her mouth is closed. Like a sucking wound sound of hell…I feel realy bad because it really make her upset to know that I am truly annoyed with her. But, it’s not her its me. The sounds of mouth eating are so intense with me I even find it annoying with my young toddlers whom I would chew my own figures off to save!

When people eat at times that are not a dinning time, like you know tv ect while ie.. sitting there and your not having a meal with that person is hell for me.

crunching, chowing slurping, sucking and smacking…..just fucking kill me!!!!

4. cat - January 22, 2009

LOL I thought I was the only one. I can’t STAND any mouth sounds. That includes slurps, sucks, crackles, chews, smacks, etc. My poor kid is sick and I can’t even stand to be in the room with her b/c the breathing through her mouth is so loud that it intensifies all of her mouth noises. I think I must have a disorder. But at least I’m not alone. . .

5. mob - December 16, 2009

Karl Castle (sp?) doing the morning news on NPR can be ridiculously painful some mornings. Good to know I’m not the only crazy one.

6. lianna - April 5, 2010

omg i totally get all of u ppl!
i feel just the same way!
all sorts of mouthy noises make me want to kill myself!
like i cant stand to be near ppl who are eating, chewing gum, swallowing or anything!
i cant sit next to someone who is making mouthy noises or if i have to i have to plug my ears and try and act normal!
i dread family dinner time and i hate watching tv/films where ppl are mouthy noisy
its got to the point now where i feel like my clothes are constricting me and tightening on me when i hear a mouthy noise
and when i hear food packets being opened near me i get nervous cos i know mouthy noises are coming

this stupid thing is like destroying me life!!!!!!!!!!!!

7. Jeff - May 5, 2010

I agree with everyone here, I too feel borderline psychotic with mouth noises. A guy that sits near me at work has a new partial denture plate, two implant teeth and chews gum all day long. It sounds like he is sucking on a wet sponge. He goes through about 20 pieces of gum a day. Then the other guy in the cubical next to me insists on talking on the phone (with customers) while chewing gum like a damn cow, breathing heavy and chomping with every syllable. And the owner is constantly hoovering over my shoulder while chewing gum. It has gotten so bad that I wear commercial orange foam ear plugs most of the day. What kills me is that all of them just tell me Im being too sensitive when I ask them not to chew it around me. They also tell me to grow up, but didnt we all, as children, get taught to chew with our mouth closed and not talk with our mouth full? … I don’t know what to do other than just bear it until I can find another source of income.


Leave a Reply

