jump to navigation

“I’d ate it without salt !” July 5, 2007

Posted by Rambling Man in General Bloggery, Ireland & the Irish.
trackback

“Jaysis boy, I’d ate it without salt !” is an oft heard phrase around these parts, when one wishes to impart the severity of your hunger ! If you were hungry enough to eat something without salt, then you’d probably do this

    But, according to recent findings, eating a simple oul sandwich from your local convenience store can do you more harm than good when it comes to salt. A report in today’s Guardian newspaper reveals that “pre-made sandwiches can contain more than half the recommended daily allowance of salt …” Just have a little ponder on that fact for a minute – because I know it’s the furthest thing from my mind when I rush into the local supermarket to get a quick bite.

    I don’t really have time to choose as wisely as I might but after reading this article, I will in future. The report goes on to name names and details which sambos are the most salty and so on … there are some surprises in there.

    In Ireland I think we eat far too much salt – I’ll be the first one to hold my hand up and say that “Yes, I’ve put salt on my food before I’ve tasted it !” but I haven’t done that in a long time. Often at the same dinner table there have been perfectly daycent dinners lacerated with the stuff, until the person is pretty much having dinner on his salt as opposed to salt on his dinner.

    The RDA (Recommended Daily Allowance) per adult is 4 grams. Many of us eat this and up to quadruple it, in a single day.

    So the next time you are perusing those healthy options in the supermarket aisle or are happily loading up your plastic container at the deli counter *, don’t ! There’s already way too much salt in the bread, vegetables, “salads” etc. and so on because it lasts longer if it’s made that way … I certainly don’t want to die young from eating this sh*te

    * In India they have Delhi belly (warning) and in Ireland now we have “deli belly” !

    Technorati tags : : : :

    Comments»

    1. Louis Corbett - September 9, 2009

    Arra jasus! Shur I’d ate a tinna sawlt with me mate! Are ye lishnin ta me?

    Buhannawa…what happened to ” Ireland and evertin else ” as your subtitle, ha?

    Rambling Man - September 9, 2009

    lew-e ! long time no hear – hows the rosary crusade going ? i changed the title because the current one reflects how i feel having to hang round with the likes of you and the tumpanes !

    2. Louis Corbett - September 9, 2009

    Arra cod for you..Well diddn I mate wannada Tumpanes dudder dey, an diddn he havva heddonnim like wannada Tumpanes


    Leave a Reply

