jump to navigation

Deirdre Drew R.I.P June 8, 2007

Posted by Rambling Man in General Bloggery, Ireland & the Irish.
trackback

Deirdre Drew, wife of the famous Irish balladeer Ronnie Drew, sadly passed away yesterday in Dublin, after a short illness. Deirdre, who had helped nurse Ronnie through his own battles with cancer, succumbed to the same disease.

I have always liked Ronnie Drew ever since the day I met him at the St.Patrick’s Day parade in 1985 ! As a young lad, I was wedged in the crowd at College Green with my late father, when inside the barrier Ronnie Drew and two guards were walking along the street. “Ronnie!” cried my father “There’s a young fella here wants to meet you !” and lo and behold, Ronnie turns around and comes over, shakes my hand and chats briefly for a few minutes, before heading off again.

I was made up.

Comments»

1. laurie - June 8, 2007

oh my and what an unforgettable voice he had.

i love his version of “i’ll tell me ma.” quite different from, say, the van morrison version. one is honey, one is gravel, both are great.

2. Rambling Man - June 8, 2007

ah ronnie is a sound man – he must be going through hell right now

3. ruthanne beirne - June 10, 2007

Dear Ronnie
So sorry to hear of Deirdres passing . She was a very nice lady .Aways ready to listen. I will miss her. And dear Ronnie ,I wish you the best with your strugle with your own health. Take care.
Ruthanne Beirne nee Lynch

4. Liam - June 12, 2007

I remeber the Mountain Dew festival in Macroom years ago (I can’t remember the year) where we were standing in the crowd. I was about 12 with my mother and Ronnie Drew was standing beside me with one hand leaning on my shoulder. I was delighted. Sound fella and we always loved to see him in Cork. I am very sorry for his loss.

5. Alessio Sardelli - June 13, 2007

Caro Ronnie,
sono stati giorni duri ma tu sai quanto ti voglio bene eche ci vedremo presto. il tuo amico Alessio

6. Daithi in Cork - August 17, 2008

I did not realise that Ronnie’s wife died so soon before the great man himself died. Ronnie lost hos battle with cancer yesterday afternoon, Saturday August 16th 2008. Ar dheis De go aibh a nAnam.


Leave a Reply

