jump to navigation

Steve Davis advert May 21, 2007

Posted by Rambling Man in General Bloggery.
trackback

You know the one … “In 1984 I won the World Snooker Championship. Then in 1985 I won the World Snooker Championship and then to everyone’s surprise in 1986, I won the World Snooker Championship …”

OK so we get it, as the advert says, “being predictable can sometimes be good” but after listening to Davis talk with the monotony of a Friday evening Dáil debate, does anyone know what the jaysis ad is for ? If there ever was an example of an advert making me snooze the minute it comes on, then this is it. Davis spends more time talking than does the person from the bank – the fact that it’s for a bank we only find out in the last 10 seconds.

Somebody up in (insert name of company here because I’ve forgotten) is having a toffee crisp …

Comments»

1. aquaasho - May 21, 2007

Hi RM, I actually really like those ads, I’ve heard two different versions both with Steve Davis! I think they’re for Irish Life (unsure, so you must be right about the ad after all); pensions and life insurance stuff I thought?

2. Rambling Man - May 21, 2007

i don’t think they’d make me rush out and open an account with them though. its funny cos steve davis in reality is really funny and interesting. i saw an exhibition match a couple of years ago with him and really enjoyed it. but the ad is just zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

3. Celia - June 1, 2007

Hi RM,
do you remember Anything Goes on RTÉ2 on Saturday mornings yeeeeears ago? Do you know what the theme tune was? I’m sure it was Rory Gallagher’s “Follow Me”, but lots of people have been telling me that that was in fact the theme for MT USA that used to be on Sunday afternoons, hosted by Vincent Hanley, RIP.
If I’m right about Anything Goes, what was the theme for MT USA then?
There’s a good chance I might go mad trying to find out!!

4. Rambling Man - June 1, 2007

yeah i remember ‘anything goes’ with aonghus mcanally and his red and yellow pants but i was only a young ‘un. i’ll try to find out the theme tune for you.

5. Bonaguida,McCall - January 29, 2013

I actually wanted to construct a small word so as to thank
you for some of the magnificent hints you are placing at this website.
My considerable internet research has at the end been
paid with useful strategies to share with my co-workers. I would believe that
many of us website visitors are really fortunate to be in a very
good community with very many perfect individuals with valuable things.
I feel really privileged to have seen your entire web page and look
forward to some more fabulous moments reading here.
Thank you once again for a lot of things.


Leave a Reply

