jump to navigation

They play GAA in heaven April 30, 2007

Posted by Rambling Man in Poetry & Humor.
trackback

Two 90 year old men, Dixie and Tommy, have been friends all of their
lives. When it’s clear that poor oul Dixie is dying, Tommy visits him every day. One day Dixie says, “Tommy, we both loved Gaelic Football all our lives and we played through all the ranks, right up from U-12 together for so many years. Please do me one favour. When you get to Heaven, somehow you must let me know if there’s Gaelic Football played up there.”

Dixie looks up at Tommy from his death bed, “Tommy, you’ve been my best
friend for many years. If it’s at all possible, I’ll do this favour for you.”
Shortly after that, Dixie cashes in his chips.

At midnight a couple of nights later, Tommy is awakened from a sound
sleep by a blinding flash of white light and a voice calling out to him,
“Tommy–Tommy.”
“Who is it ?”, asks Tommy sitting up suddenly. “Who is it ?” “To-mmy–it’s
me, Dixie.”
“You’re not Dixie. Dixie just died.”
“I’m telling you, it’s me, Dixie” insists the voice.
“Dixie! Where are you ?” says Tommy
“In heaven”, replies Dixie. “I have some really good news and a little bad news.”
“Tell me the good news first,” says Tommy. “The good news,” Dixie says,” is
that there’s Gaelic Football in heaven. Better yet, all of our old buddies
who died before us are here, too. Better than that, we’re all young again. Better still, it’s always spring time and it never rains or snows and best of all, we can play Gaelic Football all day long and we never get tired.”

“Jaysis, that’s fantastic,” says Tommy. “It’s beyond my wildest dreams ! So what could possibly be the bad news ?”

“You’re playing corner-forward on Tuesday evening.”

Comments»

1. tammara - April 30, 2007

k, I meant to HAhahahaha to THIS one, not the one below. I’m such a dork!
đŸ™‚

2. Rambling Man - May 1, 2007

thanks for the comments – i like really dumb, stupid jokes where you can still see the punchline coming a mile away – they still make me laugh


Leave a Reply

