jump to navigation

Father’s Song February 3, 2007

Posted by Rambling Man in Poetry & Humor.
trackback

Father’s Song

by Gregory Orr

Yesterday, against admonishment,
my daughter balanced on the couch back,
fell and cut her mouth.

Because I saw it happen I knew
she was not hurt, and yet
a child’s blood so red
it stops a father’s heart.

My daughter cried her tears;
I held some ice against her lip.
That was the end of it.

Round and round: bow and kiss.
I try to teach her caution;
she tried to teach me risk.

Comments»

1. laurie - February 3, 2007

that is a great little poem.

2. Rambling Man - February 3, 2007

i look forward to the time when my little one is old enough to teach me things through a child’s eyes


Leave a Reply

