jump to navigation

Civilization IV – addicted ! September 14, 2006

Posted by Rambling Man in General Bloggery.
trackback

Hi, we’re from “The Rambling Man” and we’re addicted !

I’ve been trying to battle it for the last 4 or 5 days but I’ve failed. Straight up, I have to admit that I am addicted. Addicted to Civilization IV, the (relatively) new all-conquering build-your-empire game from Sid Meier and Fireaxis.

Civilization IV is the 4th installment of the popular empire building game, Civilization. I’ll spare you the details but for anyone who is into empire building games, then this game is the sh*t ! You have complete control over your race of people and you build cities, buildings, armies, ships … the whole 9 yards – the aim of the game is to win by a certain date or achieve a victory over your opponents (played by the PC) in any number of ways.

Think of the scenarios – the English have just invaded the South of my empire and the Barbarians are giving me hassle from the North. My archers are no match for their pike men – what am I going to develop next ? The French are not pleased with me because I wouldn’t trade them iron but that would allow them to out develop me … The control that the game gives you over movement and development and research is out of this world.

I’m seriously hooked – I dream about it, compose strategies while I’m driving along in the car, think that if I had done something differently then such and such would’ve happened. Get this game or at least read more about it here … and feel free to tell me I’m completely sad and should be looking after my pregnant wife – that’s what she said too !

Technorati tags : : : :

Comments»

1. Seamus - September 14, 2006

I have learned to control my addiction to this one. But I think you are going to have serious problems when the sprogling arrives….

2. cp1302ger - September 15, 2006

actually i’m kinda fed up getting beaten at it lately – tried to play at the prince level and got my arse kicked – to get really good at it would require more time than i have !

3. S. - September 22, 2006

I figure I’ve probably lost at least a year of my life, all told, to Mr. Meier and his Civilization games. I’m going to stay far, far away from the new one — I don’t want to get addicted again!

I run a website, Babes in Blogland, that lists ttc, expecting, and parenting bloggers to help us all find one another. I’ve added your site to the blogroll. If you need me to correct any information or if you would like for me to remove the link, please let me know.

Thank you and congratulations.

4. Blaise - January 25, 2008

Hey, Just reading this now, just got re addicted when I started playing the expansion, beyond the sword. You still playing?


Leave a Reply

