jump to navigation

God bless F 7 August 4, 2006

Posted by Rambling Man in General Bloggery, Say it like it is.
trackback

If there’s one good thing that our friends in the software-company-that-shall-not-be-named have given us it’s spell-check !

However, it seems not that many people use it … and we Irish are especially not good at spelling. It ranges from the simple mistake to the downright ridiculous – how bad and how cringing the error is, seems to be directly related to its in-store prominence and instructional importance ! I’m not even talking about misuse of the dreaded apostrophe but constructions one would have thought our much praised educational system might have better instilled …

So when i walk into one of the biggest (if not the biggest) department store chain / food retailers in the country I don’t really expect to see signs for pumkin’s screaming out their availability (a bargain at €1.25 each it must be said).

While violently restraining myself from erasing the written disfigurement emblazoned on a perfectly good piece of quality off-white plastic hoarding, I was still tempted to find the nearest sales assistant and adamantly express the disdainment my enjoyment of lunch hour was now experiencing. But the calm side of me thought better of it … all the F7 gurus were probably off enjoying their sangwidges which is a bastardisation of the world’s most enjoyed lunch time snack, that i have endured both verbally as well as in written form (the mispelling that is !).

So now I am off to investigate the rumour that the hotel across the street has “All rooms on-sweet”.

As an afterthought I got a kick out of the F7 suggestions for pumkin’s and sangwidge … I hope they didn’t think I meant I was pumicing my sunshades or even worse bunking my synecdoche … too much time on my hands.

Comments»

1. JL Pagano - August 6, 2006

I would of thought everyone would be using F7 by now.

I suppose I should add, since you don’t know me, that the error was on purpose. I go for irony a lot.

2. cp1302ger - August 7, 2006

jaysis JL i never even spotted the error in your blog. and i wasn’t startin’ ! 🙂

3. JL Pagano - August 17, 2006

Ah – ok – we have a misunderstanding here! I was trying ( and failing miserably) to be ironic when I said “I would of” instead of “I would have”.

I totally agree with your sentiments in this post. It is also a pet peeve of mine!


Leave a Reply

